Llandudno has kept its Victorian and Edwardian elegance since the Victorian era. At that time roads on the Great Orme fairly primitive and the steep slopes prevented all but the most sure footed from reaching the summit.
Llandudno was clearly becoming a very popular tourist resort, so it wasn’t long before local businessmen latched on to the idea of a cable tramway. On 31st July 1902 the first car moved off from Victoria Station, to the sound of the town band playing “God save the King”.
Even before the tramway was finished, work had started on a nine bedroom hotel, which adjoined an 18-hole golf course. The white building, now better known as the Summit Complex, has had several owners, a big fire and many ‘face changes’ since its grand beginnings. In 1941 the R.A.F. requisitioned the hotel as a temporary radar-station. Then in 1952, a champion middleweight boxer named Randolph Turpin became the resident licensee until 1961. Llandudno Urban Council bought him out when he got into financial difficulties with the Inland Revenue. He ended his life with a single bullet in 1966. The golf course has long since disappeared but the complex is more popular than ever, boasting a Randolph Turpin Bar, themed restaurant, cafeteria and gift shop.
In 1969 the Cable Car was introduced (longest in Great Britain) running from Happy Valley gardens. The leisurely ride gives passengers a unique opportunity of enjoying breathtaking aerial views without actually flying!
Whilst staying with us here at The Queen’s Hotel, you can explore our wonderful town, which combines some wonderful independent shops alongside high street favourites, walk on the magnificent Orme – or even hire an electric bike and explore this beautiful area on two wheels…
For more information on this to do, speak with our Reception Team whilst at the hotel.